Point/Counterpoint: Gender

Gender Isn’t Binary. It’s a Spectrum!gender1.png

BY Sam Johnson

It’s 2016 and apparently you don’t know it because you think I’m a girl. First of all, I am a woman. You and your conservative patriarchal views can go sit on a pepper grinder because gender is a spectrum. It’s not some binary “male/female”, “yes/no” bullshit. There are “maybes” out there, too and the world is finally discovering it.

I know someone with gender dysphoria and she finally took action on not being a “he” anymore. Not just is that the bravest thing ever, but it’s why I’m telling you this. Can you imagine grabbing yourself between the legs and feeling nothing but emotional dissonance from your sex organ? Of course you can’t, you cowardly cisgender pig!

Someday, you’ll look back and think to yourself, “How could I have been so wrong until that wise and beautiful woman told me how wrong I was?” Because by then, everyone will understand that gender is a spectrum, like color. Speaking of which, the way you think is like some racist bigot back during the Byrd lynching, before the Civil Rights Movement gave black people equal treatment. Welcome to the new millennium, asshat. Now go look at yourself in the mirror and feel ashamed for your prejudiced, backward thinking!


gender2.pngI DIDN’T EVEN SAY ANYTHING!

BY Brady the Freshman

I was waiting for the bus with my headphones in when you started talking to me about genitals. Thanks for telling me how wrong I am for not minding my own business. You’re totally right and I shouldn’t be thinking about other people’s private parts. But that’s exactly what you’re forcing me to think about.

As for the question you raise, I’ve never paid mind to the possibility that gender has a new definition but it seems complicated. When a typical child is born with either a penis or a vagina, how expansive is that gamut? Sure, some men are more genteel than others. It’s the same with women. Do we need seventy-six labels for them all or can we just treat folks as individuals, regardless of which of the two categories they may fall into?

As enlightening as this conversation has been, I never wanted it, stranger. You’ve shown some great social awareness but little tact. I have no doubt in my mind that you are definitely somewhere on “the spectrum”.

Leave a Reply

